Monday Yarny Musings – August 11, 2014

Alright folks, my goal of 100 hexipuffs was reached and I believe some yarn goodness is in order!  My last Monday Yarny Musings included a picture of some lovely Graffiti yarn that I ordered from Etsy seller SpunRightRound.  I loved it so much that I went ahead and requested a custom order from her because what I really wanted was a graffiti yarn that had a lot more black to contrast with the natural and colored sections.  Here is my lovely yarn:

Graffiti Yarn

What do I have in mind for this yarn?  A plan for a layout!

I have been trying to figure out a layout for my great undertaking pretty much since the beginning (even though I did promise myself that I wasn’t going to stress about layout and JUST KNIT).  The truth is that this thought has been in my mind since before I even started my first hexipuff.  I guess I can be proud that I didn’t exactly stress about or drive myself so crazy that I just stopped working on the whole project!  (It’s the small victories!)

I have spent quite a bit time searching through pictures of hexagon quilts for inspiration and finally one struck my fancy.  After seeing it, I just knew that I needed to request a custom order of the graffiti yarn because it would tie everything together!  I stumbled across Kelly Girl Quilt’s blog and found pictures of her amazing hexie quilt.  Talk about serious inspiration!  Here is the link to her blog about the hexie quilt, from start to finish.  I think what I love most about it is the contrast between the diamonds and the monochrome border.  I mean seriously, how cool is this??

Kelly Girl Quilts gorgeous hexagon quilt

I have quite a ways to go before I will even have enough of any color to begin constructing a diamond and I still need to decide if I want to do some sort of gradient thing with each diamond.  Lots of time to think about it because I’ll likely need somewhere between 1500-2000 hexipuffs to make a decent sized quilt!

 

 

One thought on “Monday Yarny Musings – August 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

