The Weaving Needle: You and I at the End (5KCBWDay4)

I am the seemingly lowly weaving needle, but everybody has me in their notions bag.  How could you not?  I am one of the last tools to interact with your knitted or crocheted item and I help you tidy up the loose bits (literally).  Now I know that there are other methods to weave in ends, but so many knitters get nervous and want to double back just a bit our long tails that have been knitted or crocheted over so I am always in some sort of demand.

During my existence in KnittyKitty’s notions bag, I have been used quite a bit, but I must stress how much of a process it is with her.  So many times I have peaked up out of the notions bag and let KnittyKitty7 know that it would be best to use me as you work through the project instead of waiting until the end.  But oh no, in her excitement to see a project grow or get to that next color change, my advice goes unheeded.  And then where do we find ourselves?  As blankets are her usual knitting or crocheting MO, we typically end up with a nice sized blanket with soaring color shifts or a huge pile of intricate squares waiting to be joined.  But the ends stand in the way.  And then we have the deep sighs and the regret of not heeding my earlier advice.  And then as she resignedly pulls me out of the notions bag to begin weaving away, KnittyKitty7 always vows that THIS is the last time she doesn’t weave as she goes.  Ask me how many times that has come to fruition?

When KnittyKitty7 started on her latest adventure, or great undertaking as she calls it, I knew immediately what drew her to the pattern.  Each little hexipuff is double-sided so there are no ends to weave in!  All of the ends can either be pulled into the center of the fabric with a crochet hook or left long to be used later for joining the puffs.  You should see the delight on her face when all the finishing that is required is a simple crochet being inserted into a puff to draw the end through!

I do believe she has forgotten that once again, at the end of the project, it will be her and I joining each hexagon carefully.  I will bid my time in this notions bag as she works up of hundreds or perhaps even a thousand hexipuffs, discovers how she wishes to arrange them, and then has no other tool to reach for but me, her ever present, ever useful weaving needle.

 

 

Topic of Day 4:

Day Four (Thursday 15th May): Conversations Between Workers.
Start by writing a few short paragraphs from the point of view of one of the tools you use for your craft. this might be a spinning wheel, crochet hook, pair of scissors or your knitting bag. These first few lines should include a description of this tool’s task and usage. If you are feeling particularly in tune with this item you might assign it feelings.

Then, write a dialogue between yourself and this item. It might describe your relationships, the annoyances that you have felt for this item at some point (or could it have possible ever have felt annoyances with you) and the wonderful work that you have created together.

 

Leave a Reply

